2023 Baseball Order Form :: 10-10-2022

For 2023, all teams must use Hot Stove Logo Baseballs for all games. The order form is now available on the Forms page and must be completed and submitted no later than December 31, 2022. For questions, please contact Patty Vasi, pattyvasi@gmail.com.

2023 Rule Changes :: 10-10-2022 (These rule changes will go into effect for the 2023 season)

The following rule changes were voted on by all Charters at the October 9, 2022 Annual Meeting:

1. Remove chin strap requirements for Classes I, HH, H and G

2. Implement time limits where no new inning would start after:

  • Class I – 2 hours
  • Class HH – 2 hours
  • Class H – 2 hours
  • Class G - 2 hours 15 minutes
  • Class F – 2 hours 15 minutes

3. Include Class G into Rule 4.10.5, allowing a 15 run mercy rule for Class G.

  • Amend Rule 3.3.A.1 to state that in Class G only, an un-played inning does count as part of the player’s time in the game.

4. Remove innings pitched limitations and replace with a daily pitch count and minimum rest for all ages.

Level

Daily Pitch Limit

O Days of Rest

1 Day of Rest

2 Days of Rest

3 Days of Rest

Class I

65 pitches

n/a

n/a

n/a

n/a

Class HH

75 pitches

1 – 30 pitches

31 50 pitches

51 – 75 pitches

n/a

Class H

75 pitches

1 – 30 pitches

31 50 pitches

51 – 75 pitches

n/a

Class G

85 pitches

1 – 30 pitches

31 50 pitches

51 – 75 pitches

76 + pitches

Class F

95 pitches

1 – 30 pitches

31 50 pitches

51 – 75 pitches

76 + pitches

Classes EE-E

125 pitches

1 – 30 pitches

31 50 pitches

51 – 75 pitches

76 + pitches

5. Eliminate the need to throw pitches for an intentional base on balls for Classes G, F, EE, E and D.
 

2022 Class EE-E-D Survey Now Open :: 3-14-2022

The 2022 Class EE-E-D survey is now open. Teams interested in participating in one of these classes for this season must complete the survey. All surveys must be completed no later than May 1, 2022. The costs are: Classes EE-E - $400; Class D - $600. This cost covers all team fees, insurance and tournament fees. Teams would need to purchase baseballs for game use and will be responsible for paying one umpire, each game, at a cost of $60 per game. Additional details are available in the survey. Season will start around May 30. Contact Pat Anderson, pat@ohsbl.com, with any additional questions.

  • Click HERE to complete the survey
  • Click HERE to order baseballs
2022 Rule Book Now Online! :: 1-17-2022

The 2022 OHSBL Rule Book is now online! New this year, the rule book was split into 2 forms

2022 Background Checks :: 1-17-2022

OHSBL has worked with NCSI to migrate to their new platform. Each charter has a unique link to complete their respective background checks. Charters are asked to publish the new links and let coaches know about the change. Background checks are required for all coaches and personnel that are assisting at games or practices. The system is a self-pay, cost of $20 and background checks are good for 2 seasons.

Lindsay’s Law: Sudden Cardiac Arrest in Youth Athletes :: 12-31-2017

All OHSBL Managers, Coaches and umpires must comply with this law that goes into effect in 2017.

In accordance with this law, the Ohio Department of Health, the Ohio Department of Education, the Ohio High School Athletic Association, the Ohio Chapter of the American College of Cardiology and other stakeholders jointly developed guidelines and other relevant materials to inform and educate students and youth athletes participating in or desiring to participate in an athletic activity, their parents, and their coaches about the nature and warning signs of sudden cardiac arrest.

For more information, please visit Lindsay’s Law: Sudden Cardiac Arrest in Youth Athletes

State of Ohio Concussion to play Law :: 02-19-2013

All OHSBL Managers, Coaches and umpires must comply with this law that goes into effect April 26, 2013!!

Use this site to get your free certification. NHFS Free Concussion Course

  • Click on the button that says, please login to order. In the window that appears , click to register.
  • When your registration is complete you may "order" the free concussion course offered along the left hand side of the page. Continue following prompts. Although it may look like you'll be charged for the course, there is no cost.
  • Once you've completed "checkout," you'll be able to take the free online course and print a compliance certificate.

If you want additional information on this law go to Healthy Ohio :: Concussion in Youth Sports: Ohio's Return-to-Play Law